Are you a professional reader?

By Liz @ Ashburton

Are you a professional reader?

Yes, of course you are. So am I! Though, until this week I didn’t realise I qualified for the auspicious title.

In my other life – the non-paying, doubt-ridden, dark room of my writing career – I wear a number of faces – copywriter, journalist, and, of course, wannabe fiction phenomenon (that’s the dark, doubt ridden part).

I also write occasional reviews for the Historical Novels Review.

What you’ve never heard of it!?

Let me tell you it is HUGE overseas. 🙂

I use the word occasional because due to postage costs most publishers prefer to send free advance copies of titles to people residing in the same country as that in which the book being published. This means I only get Australian historical fiction to review.

That’s right, not much.

When bemoaning this sad fact to Sarah Johnson one of the HNR’s editors, she suggested I join NetGalley.

So, I did.

This is what I found.

If you’re a reviewer, blogger, journalist, librarian, bookseller, educator, or in the media, you are a considered a ‘professional reader.

This entitles you to a FREE NetGalley account. Henceforth, you can request free electronic copies of titles before they are released.

That’s right folks free eBooks.

All the main publishers are on NetGalley. All you have to do is register and create a profile and wait for approval. I have just recently requested my first galley: The colonials by Brian Fitzpatrick (a Melbourne writer). I’ll let you know how it goes.

In the meantime…here is the link:

https://www.netgalley.com/

One thought on “Are you a professional reader?

Join in the discussion

