A word to your bookshelf, an exaltation on Kew Library by recent work placement student

KEWKASS

Post by Kassi

There is a quote that says if you have a garden and a library, you have everything you need. Fortunately, Kew Library has both.

I remember the very first time I visited the library here; it was last year and I wandered in and sighed happily. This was my place. I took A Farewell to Arms off the shelf and sat down in the aisle to read.

Knowing what I do after my time here at Kew, I realise now how dangerous it is to sit down in the aisle and read. Why, you are placing yourselves in a spot to be caught unaware by the librarians, who are shelving fervently.

For a library student, coming to a place full of people who know lots more about what you’ve been studying for only a year and a half is quite daunting. Fortunately for me, everyone at Kew has been very gracious with their time, and it’s because of them that I leave here with a mind full of things that I didn’t already know.

Learning the ins and outs of public libraries at Kew has made me really fall in love with this career path. Whether it be helping a customer find a book, watching a kid sing along at story time, or even processing inter-library loans, my enthusiasm for libraries has not been deterred.

I will take all I have learned here with me, and always remember that working in a library is not just a job. It’s a privilege, one that, if I’m very lucky, I’ll be able to uphold.

Join in the discussion

